

The Illinois Commerce Commission

FACT SHEET

What is the ICC?

The Illinois Commerce Commission (ICC) is a state agency that regulates investor-owned electric, natural gas, and water utilities. The ICC determines rates and regulatory policy in the state. The five ICC commissioners are appointed by the governor and approved by the state Senate for five-year terms. The governor also appoints one commissioner to be ICC chairman. Under Illinois law, no more than three Commissioners may belong to the same political party. A tax on utility bills helps fund the ICC.

What does the ICC do?

The ICC conducts hearings on utility rates and service, audits utility operations and investigates consumer complaints against public utilities.

In cases before the ICC, an "administrative law judge" will spend months listening to expert testimony and legal arguments—filed by parties in the case, such as CUB, other consumer advocates, the utilities, and the ICC's own staff. The judge will then make a recommendation concerning utility rates or service to the five commissioners, who will consider the recommendation and make a final ruling.

CUB can initiate proceedings by filing a complaint against a utility; or it can "intervene" in a proceeding to argue for lower rates and pro-consumer policies. Utility companies also may intervene in cases, or they can initiate one by, for example, formally proposing a rate increase.

The ICC also maintains **Plug In Illinois**, a consumer education resource on electric choice.

How do I contact the ICC?

You can file a complaint against a utility company by calling the ICC at **1-800-524-0795** 8:30 AM-5:00 PM Monday-Friday, or visiting **ICC.Illinois. gov**. You may also request to participate or make a public comment in an open ICC meeting. The ICC website has a **public comment form.**

If you have a question about how best to proceed with a complaint before calling the ICC, you can call CUB at **1-800-669-5556**.

Who are the ICC Commissioners?

Chairman Doug P. Scott: Gov. J.B. Pritzker appointed Chairman Scott in June 2023 to serve out the remainder of former Chair Zalewski's term. Scott previously served as ICC Chairman from 2011 to 2015. Previously, he was Vice President at the Great Plains Institute and served as an advisor to the Governor's Office, including development of the Climate and Equitable Jobs Act.

Commissioner Michael T. Carrigan: Commissioner Carrigan was appointed to a five-year term by Gov. Pritzker in 2020. Before joining the ICC, he served as an officer with the Illinois American Federation of Labor and Congress of Industrial Organizations (AFL-CIO) for more than 19 years, where he served as secretary-treasurer and president.

Commissioner Ann McCabe: Commissioner Mc-Cabe was appointed to a five-year term by Gov. Pritzker in February 2023. She brings more than 25 years of energy and environmental policy and regulatory experience in the public, private, and non-profit sectors. She previously served on the Commission from March 2012-January 2017.

Commissioner Conrad R. Reddick: Commissioner Reddick was appointed to a five-year term by Gov. Pritzker in March 2023. Reddick is an experienced corporate and regulatory attorney with a career spanning over 40 years, specializing in utility regulation and litigation. He previously served as a Special Deputy Corporation Counsel to the City of Chicago on utility issues.

Commissioner Stacey Paradis: Commissioner Paradis was appointed to a five-year term by Gov. Pritzker in April 2023. She has 25 years experience in policy, management, and government relations and and previously served as Executive Director of the Midwest Energy Efficiency Alliance (MEEA).

August 2023